WB Yeats Scholarship Announced in Brazil to mark Yeats2015

A new WB Yeats Scholarship has been launched by the University of Sao Paolo and the University of Limerick marking the 150th anniversary of the birth of the great poet.

The WB Yeats scholarship invites graduate and undergraduate students of University of Sao Paolo to programmes at the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences at University of Limerick.

The WB Yeats Scholarship builds on links established by Professors Tina O’Toole (UL) and Laura Izarra (USP) and is the latest initiative of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) signed between the two institutions in 2012 during the visit of President Michael D. Higgins to Sao Paulo.

International Yeats Society President and Glucksman Chair of Contemporary Writing at University of Limerick Meg Harper traveled to Brazil to deliver the annual opening lecture of the WB Yeats Chair of Irish Studies at the University of São Paulo on St. Patrick’s Day.   Commenting on the scholarship, Professor Harper hopes that “students will share her enthusiasm about UL’s new interdisciplinary MA in Critical Irish Studies”.

Also present was Minister for Education and Skills, Jan O’Sullivan TD, who attended the formal opening of “Commemorations of 150 years of Yeats” conference at the University of São Paolo.